The Bastard Sons of Dennis: Cosy Lube Turtle added to SoundCloud

Cosy Lube Turtle by The Bastard Sons of Dennis has been added to SoundCloud. Cosy Lube Turtle is an amazing album of wonderful acoustic Blue Öyster Cult covers.

The Bastard Sons of Dennis were well known and well loved for their interpretations of some of the best songs ever to come out of Long Island, New York. The twosome were described as “arguably among the finest acoustic Blue Öyster Cult cover duos in the EX4 area (excluding Pinhoe).”

Cosy Lube Turtle was finally completed last year. All of the songs have been available to enjoy and download from Bandcamp, which you can do by clicking here. We felt that it was about time they were added to SoundCloud as well.

Altogether there are ten songs on the Cosy Lube Turtle album. If you happen to see fewer than ten at SoundCloud, come back in a few days and some more will have arrived. Due to the way music discovery works over at SoundCloud, there may be a day or two between each song being released there.

Cosy Lube Turtle is an anagram. Can you solve it? The album represents around half of the various Blue Öyster Cult covers that were performed by The Bastard Sons of Dennis.

Blue Öyster Cult songs on the Cosy Lube Turtle album are Dominance and Submission, Seven Screaming Diz-Busters, Before the Kiss a Redcap, Teen Archer, Redeemed, Then Came the Last Days of May, The Subhuman, Wings Wetted Down, She’s as Beautiful as a Foot and Astronomy.

All of these songs come from the first three Blue Öyster Cult albums – the 1972 eponymous debut, Tyranny and Mutation (1973) and Secret Treaties (1974). Inspiration was also drawn from live versions that can be heard on the albums On Your Feet Or On Your Knees and Extra Terrestrial Live.

As each song is released, the song information and some back story behind each Bastard Sons of Dennis version is being upgraded at Bandcamp to correspond to the SoundCloud release.

When we were all younger, there was no internet. Instead, our younger selves used to study every tiny detail and word on an album cover. At Wud Records, we try to make these things available to fans, to enable them to feel a little closer to the artists. We hope you might enjoy reading the details of each song whilst listening.

The Bastard Sons of Dennis covered a number of other Blue Öyster Cult songs. These may or may not end up being recorded and released someday. Cities on Flame, Workshop of the Telescopes, Career of Evil, Quicklime Girl, O. D.’d on Life Itself, Don’t Turn Your Back, Veteran of the Psychic Wars, Transmaiacon MC, The Red and the Black and Screams were all performed live by the duo.

A few other songs were in the works as well, such as Flaming Telepaths, Harvester of Eyes, Hot Rails to Hell, Unknown Tongue, The Vigil, Vengeance (The Pact), Burning for You and Don’t Fear the Reaper.

Neither Derek nor Chuck live in the uk now. They also live in different countries to each other. Therefore it seems unlikely that the planned albums Subtle Curly Toe and Obey Cutler Lust will ever be forthcoming.

There will be more announcements regarding The Bastard Sons of Dennis in the coming weeks. We shall let you know more about this in our News service and on Twitter, so be sure to bookmark and follow Wud Records there.

There is a lot of fascinating insight into The Bastard Sons of Dennis in a previous newspost detailing the release of Seven Screaming Diz-Busters. If you would like to read it, please click here.

To enjoy listening to Cosy Lube Turtle as it stands right now over at SoundCloud. please click here.

To listen and download your own copy of Cosy Lube Turtle from Bandcamp, please click here.

If you prefer to enjoy Cosy Lube Turtle by The Bastard Sons of Dennis right here at the Wud Records website, click here to open the page.